User roles and permissions in Amplitude

  • Updated

This article will help you:

  • Understand the different permissions associated with Amplitude's user roles

User permissions define the level of Amplitude access a user in your organization will have. Usually, permissions are based on a user's role, though project-level permissions and permission groups are available for Enterprise customers who need the ability to better target levels of security.

NOTE: You may also find this course on administering Amplitude helpful.

The person who sets user permissions is the Admin. The Admin is the first user of any Amplitude organization, and each organization must have at least one Admin (any Admin can designate other users as Admins as well). When new users are first invited to an organization, they are assigned the viewer role by default.

In Amplitude, user permissions exist at the organization level. Once assigned a permission level, a user in an organization will then have the same level of access to all projects within that organization. 

Learn more about how to create and manage organizations and projects, and how to manage users and permissions in Amplitude.

User roles and permissions in Amplitude

Role

Permissions

Viewer

Recommended role for third parties, if you do not want them creating content that the rest of the organization can find.

  • Create, edit, and delete undiscoverable dashboards, charts, and behavioral cohorts. Viewers must be the owner of the content to edit and delete it.
  • Co-own undiscoverable content made by another user.
  • View project settings
  • View data sources and data destinations
  • Connect user account to Slack
  • Edit their own profile (name, title, team, password)
  • Edit their own email subscriptions
  • Set custom monitors and subscribe to them
  • Share content they create with others

Note that Viewers:

  • Cannot create anything that is discoverable, including saved segments
  • Cannot create shareable links
  • Cannot export data to third-party integration partners

Member

Recommend for the majority of Amplitude users in your organization.

All Viewer permissions, plus:

Note that Members:

  • Cannot search for content that is undiscoverable.

Manager

Recommended for users who need access to all content created within Amplitude (does not include undiscoverable dashboards and charts) and ability to make changes to project settings.

All Member permissions, plus:
  • Add and remove users
  • Edit user role (permissions)
  • Create, edit, and delete annotations
  • Mark content as "Official Content"
  • Visibility of API keys and secret keys in project settings
  • Remove and edit saved segments
  • Create new projects
  • Edit project settings
  • Make edits to your tracking plan: change, block, delete, drop, plan, approve/reject, transform, derive 
  • Add and edit data sources and data destinations
  • Transfer ownership of content they don’t own

Admin

The highest-level permissions set in an organization. We recommend limiting the number of users in an organization who are Admins. The Admin role can only be granted or revoked by existing Admins.

All Manager permissions, plus:
  • Remove shared chart and dashboard links
  • Change sampling settings
  • Create permission groups
  • Delete organization or change organization name and URL (the Admin must submit this request to the Amplitude Support team)
  • Change org Admins

All users

  • Cannot change full name of other users
  • Cannot change or reset password for other users
  • Cannot change their own role in the organization
  • Cannot remove themselves from the organization. To do so, request an Admin or Manager remove you from the organization.
  • Cannot permanently delete another user’s content. Admins can archive users content but only owners can delete their content after archiving.