Table of Contents
- Public Link Permissions
- Disable Public Links
- Slack: Visual Links & Unfurling Public Links
- Important Notes
Note: Only Admins or the owner of the chart, dashboard, or notebook can create a public link to that content. The owner must also have Admin, Manager, or Member user permission level.
This feature is only available to users on the Scholarship, Growth, and Enterprise plans.
You can send public links to charts, dashboards, and notebooks to any person, even if they are not registered under your organization. This is helpful when you have users who you do not want to give full access to your data (board members, contractors, interns) but you want them to be able to view specific charts and metrics, e.g. retention and conversion rates. To manage all your public links, you can view them in the Settings page.
For example, if you have a funnel that tracks the rate of users who complete your tutorial process, then you can generate a public link and send it to the user interested in the funnel.
In the below image, we clicked on the "Share" button in the top right corner of the chart as indicated by the blue box. We then clicked "Manage Public Links" in the modal that opened.
Once we click the "Create new public link" button, a link to the chart will be randomly generated. Here you can revoke access or copy the link to your clipboard by hovering over the link. If you would like to create multiple Public Links, simply click the create button again.
If you are on the Enterprise plan, you may also password protect the link or add an expiration date.
From the link, the chart will be displayed as below. The chart is dynamic and will automatically update to the most recent information. To view this chart in Amplitude, log in and then click the title of the content.
You can also create public links to dashboards that you own. You may follow the same instructions in the Public Charts section above.
From the link, the dashboard will be displayed as below. The dashboard is dynamic and will automatically update to the most recent information. Users with an Amplitude account can view this dashboard in Amplitude by clicking on the dashboard title. Or, they can view any of the charts on the dashboard in Amplitude by clicking on the chart title.
You can also enter TV Mode on a dashboard public link. This will allow you to display a dashboard with four charts across for better display on TVs in your office without having to log in to an Amplitude account on that TV.
You can also create public links to Notebooks that you own. To do this, click the "Share" button in the top right corner of your Notebook. You may follow the same instructions in the Public Charts section above.
Public Link Permissions
As an Admin, you can control whether your members are required to set a password and/or expiration date when creating a public link. When setting an expiration, you can control how long public links are allowed to exist before expiring. For example, if you choose "30 days", this will ensure your members are not able to create links that expire in more than 30 days. You can set these controls in the Public Links page under Settings.
Even if your account does not require passwords or expirations, you may set either when creating a public link. After clicking "Create link" in the "Manage public links" modal, you will be prompted to create a password and set an expiration date.
Passwords are not recoverable by you, your Admins, or Amplitude. If you forget your password, you can edit the link and choose a new one. If you choose to set an expiration date, any recipients will receive an error message when opening the link after your selected date. You can always edit your link and choose a new expiration date if you need to extend access.
Disable Public Links
All users have access to delete their own public links on the content itself or in the Public Links page under Settings. Admins have access to disable the public links of all users in the organization.
Slack: Visual Links & Unfurling Public Links
Read more about the Amplitude Slack integration here.
- Public links can be shared with anyone until you revoke the link. On the Enterprise plan, anyone with the password can access your links prior to their expiration. Thus, please be cautious of who you share the link with and revoke the link when necessary.
- Once you revoke a link, you will not be able to re-enable it. Users who try to access revoked links will be directed to a 404 page.
- Charts are cached for 10 minutes for everyone.