Collaborate on your analyses using spaces

  • Updated

This article will help you:

  • Collaborate with other team members to generate insights by creating and refining analyses together
  • Organize the content you create in Amplitude

In this article, you'll learn how to take advantage of the different features offered by spaces. If you haven't already done so, please read the introductory article on spaces in Amplitude before continuing.

Feature availability

This feature is available to users on all Amplitude plans.

Join an existing space

To subscribe to an existing space, click the Spaces drop-down, then click View all Spaces. Scroll down until you find the space you're looking for, and click Join.

When you join a space, Amplitude stars it automatically and adds it to your list of joined spaces. You can un-star a space and remove it from your list by clicking the star icon on the space itself.

spaces_1.png

Move content to a new space

As mentioned above, each piece of content can only be saved to a single space. You can move content to a new space by following these steps:

  1. Navigate to the space where the content is saved and check the box next to its name.
  2. In the menu bar above the content list, click Move. A navigational fly-out panel will open.
  3. Navigate to the space or folder you want, or create a new space or folder. Then click Move.

Create a shortcut

A shortcut is a way to add content to multiple spaces and folders. Anyone can create a shortcut to a piece of content, but only an owner of the original content can move the original to a new space.

  1. Open a piece of content you'd like to share to multiple spaces.
  2. Navigate to More > Add Shortcut.
  3. Navigate to the space or folder you want, or create a new space or folder. Then click Add Shortcut.

Manage space members

You can add new members to your space, or manage the access permissions of current space members, via the Manage Members button.

spaces_update_1.png

There are three levels of permissions:

  • Can add: The user can add items or folders, or move existing content.
  • Can edit: The user can edit, archive, and save changes to all content in the space.
  • Can view: The user can only view the content residing in the space.

To add a new member to a space, follow these steps:

  1. Click Manage Members to open the Manage Members modal.
  2. Click in the Add people field and select the new member from the drop-down list. Repeat this step for each new user who will have the same permissions level.
  3. Set the permissions level for the new user from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click Share.

To modify a space member's permissions, follow these steps:

  1. Click Manage Members to open the Manage Members modal.
  2. Scroll until you find the user whose permissions you want to modify. Open the drop-down opposite their name and select the new permissions level, or click Remove to remove the user from the space.

Slack integration 

When you connect spaces to specific Slack channels, you'll receive notifications whenever your team creates new analyses. When new content gets added to that team space in Amplitude, it will automatically be posted in the Slack channel.

To do this, click Connect with Slack. Then follow the prompts.

To learn more about our Slack integration, see our Help Center article on integrating Slack with Amplitude.

Permissions 

While only admins, managers, and members can create a team space, all users can add themselves to spaces, regardless of permission level.

By default, admins, managers, and members can all add content, invite users to the space, and archive a space. Admins and managers also have the option to manage the space permissions to specify which roles have permissions to add content, invite users, and archive a space.

To archive content from a space you own, you will need editing permissions.

NOTE: Names of spaces must be unique and archived spaces cannot be renamed unless they're restored. To reuse the name of an archived space, an Admin or approved user will first have to restore the space and then change its name before re-archiving. You'll then be able to use the desired name for a different space. 

Screenshot 2024-02-13 at 12.33.30 PM.png