Welcome to the Amplitude error detection beta. To delete event types, first go to the advanced tab - you can get there by clicking the link in the email we sent, or by going to "manage data," selecting the project you want to delete events from, and then clicking "advanced."
Note: When deleting an event type, the events with this name are blocked and the same name cannot be reused for future events.
From the "advanced" section, select the events you want to delete, and click "delete."
A dialog will show up with a confirmation process. Upon completion of this process, the events will be deleted. Note that the deletion of event types is permanent and irreversible.
Please note the following:
- Deleting events is permanent, irreversible, and immediate.
- If you do not want the deleted event type to count for historical active user counts or show up in any charts, then you should mark the event as "Inactive" before deleting it.
- It is not possible to delete historical data. All saved charts that contain the deleted event type will still show the deleted event type. If you no longer wish to see the deleted event type at all, then you should either archive all charts with that event type on it or remove the event type from the saved chart. Once removed, there will be no way to re-add the deleted event type to the saved chart as it will no longer show up in the dropdowns.
- Once an event type is deleted, Amplitude will block that event type and immediately stop collecting new data for it. Any incoming new data for that event type will not count towards your event volume.
- You will no longer be able to query on an event type once it has been deleted. It will no longer appear in dropdowns and you will not be able to create new charts with it.
- The deleted event type will no longer count towards your project's 2000 event type instrumentation limit.
- You should update your instrumentation to stop sending the deleted event type.
- If your project exceeded the instrumentation limit and event types were deleted to go back under the instrumentation limit, then it may take up to 24 hours for new event types to be indexed in the platform. So, if you send new event types to your project after cleaning up your instrumentation, you many not see the event types in the dropdown menus for up to 24 hours.
- Once the limit is reached for event types or properties, we will stop indexing the new values. New values sent while you were over the limit can only be accessed in the raw data e.g. exporting via CSV file or export API's.
- You can see event types that have been deleted from your project in the Block List tab.
- You cannot use the name of an event you deleted for a new event you plan to send.